Kamiru

My artisan bread

with 5 comments

I took baking lessons when I was in Grade School.  It was something I enjoyed, but didn’t really have the time to do.  I tried baking bread before, and it was always a failure!  It was always cooked outside, but raw inside.  It was so frustrating!  I didn’t bake for years after that!

Two weeks ago, in one of the cooking/ baking shows that I watched, they did a feature on bread-making.  The show’s host enumerated the number of ingredients a store-bought bread consists.  There’s a lot (including preservatives, of course)!  And then he went on to say that making your own bread is easy, and that you will only need 4 ingredients.  Flour, yeast, salt and water.  It seemed really easy to do!  It was inspiring!

I googled the easiest way to make bread, and came across the Jim Lahey/ Mark Bittman (N.Y. Times’) tutorial  for the “No Knead Bread“.  They said that the recipe was so easy that even a 5-year old can make it!  I immediately went to work.

Well, my first try wasn’t that good.  The dough didn’t rise like it was supposed to.   I put too much salt (I think I put 1 tbsp., instead of 1 tsp).  It was a bit burnt on the outside, and it was dense inside.  This is how it looked:

I felt bad with the turnout, but hubby liked it.  He said it tasted like Sourdough,and that it was actually pretty good.   He finished it.  (Now that’s  true love! :))

Anyway, I was determined to make really good bread.  I dream of that time when we don’t have to buy bread in the stores again, and instead, enjoy freshly baked bread everyday!

I tried again, using the same recipe.  It still didn’t expand like it’s supposed to.  The crust was good and crunchy, but it was still very dense inside.   It tasted better, though.  It’s not salty anymore.   It came out like this:

I researched more about the “No-Knead Bread”, and for my third try, I decided to tweak the recipe a bit.

This time, the dough did rise like it should.  The crust was crunchy, it was airy and soft inside, and it tasted good.  It was almost perfect!  I say “almost” because I think the size should’ve been bigger.  Here’s how it looked:

I was pretty confident about my bread already so I baked one for my Mom and sister.  It came out even bigger!  I didn’t get to taste it anymore, but I got good reviews from my Mom and sister.  My Mom even said that it tasted like it was made by a professional! :) This is how my 4th bread looked:

Yesterday I baked my 5th bread, and I must say that it came out perfect!  The size became even bigger!  The crust was crunchy, it tasted really good, and it was soft inside.

Hurray!!! :)  Thank you, Lord!  I am sooo happy!  :)

Practice, really, makes perfect! :)

Written by Camille Palomera- Joven

June 25, 2012 at 5:05 pm

Posted in Food, Home

Tagged with ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love the sequence of your photos. Good job!

    eof737

    June 25, 2012 at 10:38 pm

  2. [...] My artisan bread (camillejoven.wordpress.com) [...]

  3. This makes me want to bake my own bread.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

